Ginger

God trusts us with our trials…….

My daughter and I attended a Mother/Daughter banquet at one of my former foster parents church. Pastor McGee is now Pastor Emeritus and his son is the current pastor. They were my legal guardians for almost 2 years.

It has always been a little confusing to the kids as to just who my “parents” are since I have so many surrogate families. I have three families. These three families have been greatly used by God in my life to give me insight into what a family actually is besides the dysfunctional and abusive ones I grew up in. God showed me what a family is like that makes Him head of the home. That marriages can be kind and kids do not need to be beat bloody for eating a bowl of cereal. You can read more on my testimony by going to the ME page.

The McGee’s were one of those families. Living with them also gave me some insight on what it is like to be a pastor’s kid. I saw firsthand how a church will sometimes hold the pastor and his family up to a microscope and what a fine line the Pastor walks in juggling the role of Pastor, Husband and Parent. As an aside….pray for and love your Pastor and his family. They need this daily uplifting in prayer. They face the same issues and problems that we face….ours just aren’t as open for everyone to witness.

What I wanted to share was the devotion brought that night by Mrs Becky Calvert. She is the wife of Pastor Troy Calvert and together they minister at Fairfax Baptist Temple in Fairfax,VA. I know the church and knew the reputation of his father Dr. Bud Calvert. Our schools have some lively competition during ODACS each year. (Old Dominion Assoc of Christian Schools). Mrs Calvert sang and played the piano along with her daughter who also played the violin. She also has cd’s that are available if you are interested in music that is uplifting and a blessing.

Mrs Calvert spoke some about an accident she was in ten years ago. I remember that our church (Heritage Baptist Church) was one of many asked to pray for the family. She wasn’t expected to survive, her injuries were so severe. She gave a wonderful testimony as to how God brought her through that time and the healing it took. She praised God for the many churches and missionaries that were also busy praying for the family. She also spoke on how God was able to use that time as a ministry and an opportunity to share about God’s power and healing.

It was one particular statement that she made that reached out to my heart. God turned the light bulb on for me. I was stunned and excited to think of what she was saying. I shared that thought with my husband and he laughed at me. He looked at me a little stunned that I had never thought of this before.

What she said was how humbling it was to think that God trusted her with that trial. Okay….smack me but I had never considered my life as God trusting me with a trial. I looked at Mrs McGee and had to ask her if she thought that was true in my life…..She just said yes. My husband was a little more elaborate on what he has witnessed on how I have taken what was done to me and used it in so many ways to lead others to the Lord and to try to be an encouragement.

For the life of me….I had never considered a trial an act of trust on God’s part. I had reasoned out my whole life. I just tossed it up to man’s free will and the choice of those who were in authority over me choosing the abusive behavior they chose. I know that without having accepted God at such a young age and trusting Him to see me through my childhood and teen years; I probably would not be here today.

I had to come home and share this. I called several of my friends some of which have endured some pretty abusive situations. I spoke at length with my husband. I sat here at my computer going through E-Sword looking for verses on trust, faith, trials and God. I compiled a short list of verses that spoke to my heart. It wasn’t until I was talking with another friend that she pointed me to this particular verse which just about sums it all up.

  • 2 Corinthians 1:4 Who comforteth us in all our tribulation, that we may be able to comfort them which are in any trouble, by the comfort wherewith we ourselves are comforted of God.

As Christians we face many trials. God uses these trials to grow us and many times I have come to realize that we are given a trial not just for our benefit but to help another along that path. You may face something that you have no understanding over why. God knows that one day down the road He is going to lead another person in your path to whom you will be able to minister. We are always told not to focus on the future or tomorrow; tomorrow will take care of itself.

  • Mat 6:34 Take therefore no thought for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself. Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof.

I sat here trying to wrap my finite mind around the idea that God, being Omniscient, knowing all things, could know that I would use being molested, beaten and rejected for His glory and honor. Knowing that God is Omnipresent, in all things, being all things and existing in all time would also be able to look down through the corridor of time and see when I would accept what His Son did for me on the cross at Calvary……use that faith to call upon Him when in need. Again use this to glorify and honor Him. When we are going through the trials of life God shows us divine goodness and grace. We are never alone.

  • “We are not promised days without pain, sun without rain, laughter without sorrow. We are promised strength for the day, comfort for the tears, and light for the way. (unknown) If God is going to lead you to something; He will also lead you through it.”

There are so many verses that we use when we are being tried. Many speak of what God is……God is our rock, our shield, our horn of salvation, our high tower, our refuge, our Savior, our fortress, our deliverer, our buckler (defensive armor). We are to trust Him, praise Him, praise His word and draw near to Him. ( 2Sa 22:3, Psa 9:10, Psa18:2, Psa 18:30-31, Psa 56:4, Psa 56:11, Psa 78:28, Pro 30:5)

When you read through the book of Job, you will see that Job and his friends were not concerned with WHAT Job had done to incur such a trial. They wanted to know WHY Job had incurred such a trial. We are not supposed to know why we go through a trial. We are supposed to go through our trials with our hand held out to God knowing that He is going to give us divine goodness and grace to carry us through the trial. We are not to look to tomorrow or the future and sit and question why we are being tried. We are only to focus on today. We have been given the ability to look back on our trials and see how God’s hand moved, protected and lifted us up. Armed with that knowledge we are to praise Him for the work He has done……..Why? He trusts us to use our past to comfort others. Back to 2 Corinthians 1:4. He trusts us to testify to the work and the refining He is doing in us.

Matthew Henry’s Commentary says it well……

  • (1.) Then are we qualified to receive the comfort of God’s mercies when we set ourselves to give him the glory of them. (2.) Then we speak best of God and his goodness when we speak from our own experience, and, in telling others, tell God also what he has done for our souls.

  • 2. The advantage which others might receive; for God intended that they should be able to comfort others in trouble (2Co_1:4), by communicating to them their experiences of the divine goodness and mercy; and the sufferings of good men have a tendency to this good end (2Co_1:6) when they are endued with faith and patience. Note, (1.) What favours God bestows on us are intended not only to make us cheerful ourselves, but also that we may be useful to others. (2.) If we do imitate the faith and patience of good men in their afflictions, we may hope to partake of their consolations here and their salvation hereafter.

No matter what the trial, no matter how heavy the heart, no matter how dark the clouds may be…..”He hath made everything beautiful in his time…..” Ecc 3:11. Trust God to know exactly what He is doing in your life…..He all ready knows what you are going to do with that trial. Just let Him teach you and be the giver of grace so that you may in turn share the glory of that grace with another who may have to carry a similar burden some day.

Don’t sit back and question why, not as a child whining “why”. Ask Why but with the intent of expecting God to show you the answer and lead you to the scripture so that you  may grow more in His grace. Expect to grow and with that knowledge, that you are being trusted to carry this burden so that you may show comfort to others by sharing the divine goodness and grace God showed you. You will be able to rejoice in their victories and maybe even their salvation.

May 23, 2008 - Posted by | Anger, Attitude, Bible Study, Celebrations, Faith, Just Life, Relationships | , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Ginger that is so helpful for me! It is an awesome(and humbling!)concept to think that the God of the Universe is trusting me to do His work! Thanks for sharing your part in His work with us. You are really being used by God to help so many others see Him!!! Thanks for your faithfulness to Him!

    Comment by warren'swife | May 23, 2008 | Reply

  2. I had never considered the concept that God was trusting me…

    I hadn’t either…but when you sit and put a lot of thought into it….Well…it is thought provoking.

    Comment by Elaine | May 23, 2008 | Reply

  3. God never brings evil into the world – it is sin that hurts and abuses others. I would like to clarify that it wasn’t and isn’t God’s will for a person to be abused or hurt but in retrospect, when we allow God to turn that pain for His glory – that is grace. God wants us to find comfort in strength through our trials and victories over past experiences. The verse that God used to help me so much is: “Overcome evil with good.”

    It is in trusting God that we trust and rely on Him. May each one who has been hurt be healed and find the peace of forgiveness – no matter what the circumstances. God is love.

    Comment by Woundedlily | May 23, 2008 | Reply

  4. Ok, this might be a book, I am going to apologize in advance. lol

    Stacy and I were talking about this the other day. It has to do with JT and everything else that has happened in my life, so bear with me. But, God entrusted JT to me. He trusted me enough to take care of him and love him and be his mommy. Even though he knew that JT wouldn’t be on this earth that long. But, he trusted me. I find that an honor, even though for my earthly self, I hurt, I ask why and I cry out in grief. I trusted God through out all my life through all the abuse and different situation that I would get through it all with his Guidance and love and support and his unfaltering way to show me the way.

    He trusted me that even though I went through all of everything that I have that I would come through it leaning more on Him, a better person, a faithful follower of him.

    So, yes, I do believe God sends trials our way, not to hurt us, or to be cruel and mean, but, he does this to show us his love.

    Have you ever noticed how much you cling to him when you are going through the muck?? That is what he wants you to do all through out your life, not just in the bad times. But, that was our discussion. Just more to ponder.

    Bobbie…thank you so much for sharing that with me. I have seen the growth in you and it is obvious you have aloud God to use you to glorify Him in so many ways. He wants us to lean on Him. That was beautiful…thank you.

    Comment by Bobbie | May 27, 2008 | Reply

  5. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Firework!!

    Comment by Firework | June 19, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

