Ginger

Coat Hangers…..Wire vs Plastic

Yes….I know y’all have been waiting for this one…. What do you use….plastic, wire or wood?

We converted to all plastic when my now 14 year old was a baby. They just worked better. As our family grew to include two boys, I color coded the plastic hangers. You can purchase the small hangers that are just right for children’s clothing and each child had their own color. That worked well, unless my husband was helping put clothes away.

I even color coded the adult hangers. I bought mine with the little slot in the hanger. They are just right for ladies dresses that have those little ribbons sewed into the shoulder. They help to keep the clothes on the hanger.

We never get anything dry cleaned and when we do, we immediately discard the wire hanger. I don’t see a reason to keep anything my boys can take apart and use to poke at their sister. I’m sure they might consider that an option when she is being bossy.

We do not have a single wire coat hanger in our house.

Do you know what I have come to realize? It’s important so you should pay attention and want to know this golden nugget of knowledge.

You should keep at least ONE wire coat hanger. It should have some place of residence in your home. Stuffed in the back of the hall closet that is in every house. It must resemble the amoire in Narnia. It goes on forever. It must because you couldn’t possibly fit all the junk that we all hide in that closet.

Any way…I digress. Why must every household have at least one wire coat hanger on the premises?

You might need it one day…………You never know when your spouse will need that special tool that must be unwound and poked into something.

Wire hangars are great for unlocking cars that have the keys in the ignition. Oh…did I tell you that only happens when you’ve all ready started the car and hit the lock as you are shutting the door on your way back OUT of the vehicle? Why would you be shutting the door getting out when you’ve all ready gotten in and started the car? Well you forgot something that’s why!!!

When the bathroom sink won’t drain and your spouse has taken the time to finally go in there to see why the sink won’t drain asking you for….of all things, a wire coat hanger; what do you tell him? “Uhhhhhh…I don’t think we have one of those honey?” Plunge it you say? You try to warn the man of the house. You know what is clogging the sink. It’s the hair your daughter leaves in the sink after brushing her hair, which begs another question, and the amount of food particles that three people with braces have been water picking for two years. Of course YOU know why the sink is not draining. He doesn’t want to believe you.

When he removes the elbow and sticks his finger up into the pipe then informs me…the gagger and vomiter to leave the house…..you now know why he wants a wire coat hanger. He is my hero though….I only had to bring him the bucket and didn’t have to be present when he emptied and rinsed the bucket!!! Woo Hoo!!!

We must not forget the roasting of hot dogs and marshmallows on an open fire. All though I hear they have special tools for that timeless ritual. You are not supposed to use wire coat hangers for cooking class. I have found those are too short for the task in question.

Moral of the story? Go to your local dry cleaner and if you don’t have a wire coat hanger, grab one or two. You never know where or when it may be needed. I would say put one in your car but that would be a truly “blonde” or “duh” thing to say…….

Get a wire coat hanger America….it could save you on plumbing and possibly a locksmith (as long as you leave your window cracked).

Plastic, wire or wood?

July 2, 2008 - Posted by | Family, Humor, Just Life, Observances | , , , , , , , ,

11 Comments »

  1. I’m a plastic girl all the way but I don’t throw the wire hangers away – for all the reasons you mentioned. They have a very handy hook at the end for when the boy has wadded up too much toilet paper and it looks like the toilet is not going to flush. Thankfully that hasn’t happened in a while but I have had to hook out those wads before.

    In winter we always roast marshmallows over our fireplace – using wire coat hangers, of course. 🙂 We don’t even need to wash them afterwards as if they were fancy-schmancy marshmallow roasters, we can just toss them in the trash and use new ones next time.

    Oh..Oh!!! I forgot all about the toilet!!! Thanks for reminding me Sumi…. 🙂
    I remember when one of the kids stuck a whole bar of soap in the toilet. We chopped at that thing and chopped and finally had to take the entire tank off. We sat in the back yard poking at that bar of soap with the coat hanger. That was before I had thrown them all away…. 🙂

    We might have to try that….but we will have to use the grill. Hmmmm….we could do that over the grill. I’m going to have to find some wire coat hangers….LOL!!

    Comment by sumijoti | July 3, 2008 | Reply

  2. No wooden hangers. DH & DS like the wire kind for their clothes. I use the plastic ones with the little hooks, to keep my clothes actually on the hanger. (especially the summer clothes)

    We’ve use the wire ones for all of the above uses. Toilet; sink; etc. Plus, the one in the trunk of the car. Our car locks sometimes do not respond to the key. We discovered this a few years ago at the beach. We spent 2 hrs trying to unlock doors. None of our keys worked. After we asked around & found a hanger, DH had the door opened in less than 5 min. Not sure that’s a good talent to brag about, but everyone calls him when they need to get into their car! LOL

    Wow….that is a skill!!! I take it the key will work on the trunk but not the doors? I could keep him busy but it would be a long wait to get him here….. 🙂

    Comment by luvironman | July 3, 2008 | Reply

  3. Most of our hangers are plastic. But when The Man Beast was working at the job that provided uniforms (and cleaning services, which we paid for but never used because the MB claimed they were ‘stiff’), we had a whole mess of wire coat hangers.

    Now, I use those wire coat hangers on his current uniforms. They work quite well. But plastic for everything else.

    And yes, you are absolutely right, regardless of the Mommy Dearest epidemic that has swept our nation, we MUST have at least one wire coat hanger.

    I forgot all about the Joan Crawford incident…..I wonder if that is what caused the plastic hanger epidemic….? You know, those would be just as bad……

    Comment by Iva | July 3, 2008 | Reply

  4. I use plastic.

    I do have about 3 or 4 wooden hangers for the men’s suits, and I do have 2 wire hangers.

    I never even thought about getting the wooden hangers for Randy’s suits. Not that he EVER wears them…..rolling eyes here. He has such a strong aversion to suits and ties after 4 years of wool uniforms at the Citadel. The boys want suits. Blonde moment with the wooden hangers for suits…. 🙂

    Comment by chocolatechic | July 3, 2008 | Reply

  5. Anybody else having a Joan Crawford moment? 😛

    I can’t believe I never thought of roasting marshmallows on wire hangers. 😯

    We are mostly plastic, a little wire, a few wood. Actually, we still have quite a few of those little plastic hangers that comes with small children’s clothing. I haven’t purchased those sizes in a couple of years, but I swear those hangers breed in the closet. o_O

    You never thought of marshmallows…..:shock: Great for marshmallows….Nah…not yet….

    I forgot about Joan….I vaguely remember seeing that movie years ago……

    Comment by Tresses | July 3, 2008 | Reply

  6. Never saw “Mommy Dearest” so I’m not sure what a Joan Crawford moment is.

    As for hangers, hubby won’t allow me to get rid of all of them and I’ve learned that when he says we need to keep a few of something around it is best to listen. He is the one people call around here to get into their homes and vehicles – we have a slim jim set in my vehicle that does include one wire hanger and now a 3′ length of twine as well.

    We don’t use the wire hangers for holding clothing. I have nice wooden hangers in the entry closet where the winter – read “HEAVY” – coats are kept as the plastic ones are not strong enough to hold his slope coat. I try to color code the hangers, each person having their own color but it doesn’t work very well around here. I do have a few of the plastic hangers that have crochet covers over them, like Sheri makes, on which I keep those items that would otherwise slip off a reg. hanger.

    Never thought of using the wire hangers for marshmallows though hubby did manage to bend them so that they would be able to hold my hanging flower baskets. 😀

    Ahhh….that’s another good idea….never thought of hanging flower pots with them.. 🙂
    You are not missing much with the Joan Crawford moment. The movie was titled “Mommie Dearest”. She wasn’t nice. According to the movie….

    Comment by Elaine | July 3, 2008 | Reply

  7. I prefer the plastic coated wire hangers, but I am not real picky. Most of the time I just want a HANGER! And the kids clothes HUNG UP! The boy seems to think his clothes hang well from the floor….I disagree.

    You are right that metal hangars are a necessity to have around. So many uses for them!

    My son liked the end of his bed or the door knob. Now that their room is clean they can use the closet…. 🙂

    Comment by MissPlacedAlaskan | July 3, 2008 | Reply

  8. The list for wire coat hangers…….

    *toilet issues
    *stopped up sinks
    *unlocking locked vehicles
    *hanging flower pots
    *roasting marshmallows and hot dogs
    *blowing bubbles (create a circle and dip in bubble juice…it works)

    Comment by gingerporter | July 3, 2008 | Reply

  9. You can use them to unclog your sweeper also. At least I do. lol.

    We have plastic mostly. That is what we use. I don’t think we have any wood. I haven’t seen any. We also have a bunch of hangers that the stores use. My husband got a box of them from one of his deliveries. They adjust to the size of the clothes so any of us can use them and they have clips. Those are my favorite.

    I love the hangers that the stores use for pants and skirts. We save all of those.

    Comment by Bobbie | July 3, 2008 | Reply

  10. Joan hit her daughter with the coat hanger as she was screaming ‘No more wire coat hangers!” Of course, I think she was slightly over the top anyway.

    But let’s get real, I wouldn’t want to be beat with ANY coat hanger, wire or otherwise.

    Comment by Iva | July 4, 2008 | Reply

  11. I use all three kinds plastic, wire, and wood. =)

    Comment by Donna | July 7, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

