Ginger

July 10th, 1993…..

No…I didn’t make a mistake….Fifteen years ago today……

\"Just Married\"

The cake top is a music box that we picked out from the San Francisco Music Box Company. It plays “Unchained Melody.”

My “Maid of Honor” Debbie….we were co-workers. I made the bouquets and my head piece.

Randy and his Best Man, Jim. Those who have met Randy and stood next to Randy, know he is 6’5″. Jim is taller……. 🙂

My Uncle “Buddy” walked me down the aisle. My father had passed away the previous year. He has always been my favorite uncle….mainly because we share the same birthdate.

Pastor Gregory, Randy and I. I forgot how young he looked….He was 25 and I was ummmm 29.

(I was also 5 months pregnant…….hence the ugly dress.)

We are pronounced man and wife and here we stand with my In-Law’s. Please notice the women are on the steps so as not to look to odd standing next to the men…..We are short…..In case you are wondering I am only 5’3″. (I rounded up!)

I had a small wedding……

By the way…check out that grin on my husband’s face…..He was pinching me. He still does that anytime we are taking a picture and he is next to me……He just has to be standing next to me…..

A casual shot of my youngest sister Laurissa (age 11 in this picture. 18 year difference), my Uncle Buddy, My Grandmother (who is currently 88 ) and my sister Peaches (age 19 here, all ready married and 7 months pregnant)

The mother’s……My Mom, Linda. She had just gotten out of the hospital to make this wedding. It was a close call. Of course the bride…..and my MIL.

We were supposed to be trying to kiss. You know….recreate the “You can now kiss the bride drill”, but I started laughing. Nerves kicked in and every time he tried to kiss me I would start laughing. Not just a giggle….hysterically!! That took about 20 minutes and this was the end……

He hasn’t changed one bit since the day we met. Not his playfullness….He will always be a little boy. He has matured as a man, husband and father. He is one of a kind. I can say that with some authority. God has blessed us both and blessed our marriage in ways, well the first three blessings are now ages 14,12 and 11.

He is a character, as you can see………… 🙂

One last look at the wedding party, before we head home…….

I left out the fact that it was 103 degrees that day. The parking lot to the church had melted. My shoes sunk into the asphalt over an inch. All of my husbands family and friends and friends of the family were present. We spent a lot of time visiting and getting to know everyone. My family and adopted families and a few friends came…It was a nice day. I was glad it was over……….

I still have that dress…..In fact I just had it on the other day…….Maybe we can take a 15 year later picture. He just doesn’t have the suit anymore……..but I could find the tie.

Nice walk down memory lane……Happy Anniversary Randy……I love you!

July 10, 2008 - Posted by | Celebrations, Family, Forgiveness, Friends, Grief, Just Life, Marriage, Observances | , , , ,

15 Comments »

  1. How wonderfully sweet. Happy anniversary to you both.

    (I know what you mean about forgetting how young they looked. I’m three years older than Danny, but at the wedding, he looks like a baby. Well, I suppose at 18, he IS a baby!)

    Comment by Iva | July 10, 2008 | Reply

  2. oh my, hon! You are BEAUTIFUL!!!

    Comment by APuritanLady | July 10, 2008 | Reply

  3. Happy Anniversary, you 2.

    Comment by chocolatechic | July 10, 2008 | Reply

  4. Thank You 🙂

    Comment by gingerporter | July 10, 2008 | Reply

  5. Awe, what a beautiful couple! You both look so happy!
    Happy Anniversary and many more to come!

    Comment by Lisa(ournewjourney) | July 10, 2008 | Reply

  6. Happy Anniversary!

    Comment by Sheri | July 10, 2008 | Reply

  7. What ugly dress? o_O You look beautiful! Happy Anniversary!

    Comment by Tresses | July 10, 2008 | Reply

  8. Wow!!! Are you sure I picked out that dress????? It’s scary how much we looked alike. I guess in a way we still do. Beautiful is beautiful no matter how you look at it.

    I painful remember how miserable I was that day. I cried all day it seemed like. I will never forget getting stuck on the stairs and all of ya’ll laughing at me until finally Jim came to the rescue. Then sleeping through the reception.

    Happy 15th Anniversary!!!!!!

    Comment by peachiestpigpen | July 10, 2008 | Reply

  9. Oh yeah your dress was not ugly. I liked that dress and besides we did my pictures in that dress and it’s probably still in your closet.

    Comment by peachiestpigpen | July 10, 2008 | Reply

  10. Very nice post. You look very beautiful but I think I like your hair the color it is now. Happy Anniversary……

    Comment by celticmuse | July 10, 2008 | Reply

  11. Where is this ugly dress you mention? All I see a beautiful women dressed for a wedding with some very handsome gentlemen standing tall.

    If I can get one of the printers/scanners in this house to work w/a computer I will scan some of my wedding pics and try to post them for my anniversary a week this Sunday.

    May this be a very happy day for both of you especially given what has happened this week. (((((Ginger & Randy))))) they were gentle one for you Ginger! 😉

    Comment by Elaine | July 10, 2008 | Reply

  12. Congrats

    Comment by TheDeeZone | July 10, 2008 | Reply

  13. Happy Anniversary to both of you.  You have beautiful pictures to remember a wonderful day that God joined you both together for life.

    Comment by woundedlily | July 10, 2008 | Reply

  14. Happy Anniversary!
    You both look so happy.

    Comment by MissPlacedAlaskan | July 10, 2008 | Reply

  15. I love the pictures Ginger. Congrats on your anniversary you make a lovely couple.
    God Bless

    Comment by seeker86 | July 11, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

