Ginger

Fear……

Fear can be so gripping. When it strikes, the blood pressure rises. The stomach knots up. A sense of fright and flight takes over. The need to run becomes intense. There is the constant worry of a knock at the door. Finding oneself walking towards the window and glancing out of the lace curtains. Fear muddles our thinking. It makes us believe the lies we are trying to refute. It causes doubt. It makes us anxious.

Yes, fear is very unhealthy. Where do you turn when you’re sitting there with your stomach churning and your face becoming flushed at the mere thought of the circumstances you may be facing….?

2 Timothy 1:7 For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind. (KJV)

I know this. I understand this. Yet the fear still over powers me. I look some more…..

Hebrews 13:6 So that we may boldly say, The Lord is my helper, and I will not fear what man shall do unto me. (KJV)

Psalm 118:6 The LORD is on my side; I will not fear: what can man do unto me? (KJV)

Still the fear encompasses me round about. I feel it on my skin. I feel it in my heart. I feel it in my stomach. This fear is just of one person. One person that I GAVE the power to put me down. Make me tremble. Yet, even knowing the lies and hearing the threats. The fear is overwhelming to me. I find no comfort in those things around me nor do I find peace or comfort offered to me. There is no peace of mind to be had.

I am trying, purposing in my heart to cling to the promises that have been given to me. Only there can I find true peace and protection. Only there can I see the lies for what they truly are….I just haven’t been able to see them yet.

Psalm 56:4 In God I will praise his word, in God I have put my trust; I will not fear what flesh can do unto me. (KJV)

Deuteronomy 3:22 Ye shall not fear them: for the LORD your God he shall fight for you. (KJV)

Deuteronomy 31:6 Be strong and of a good courage, fear not, nor be afraid of them: for the LORD they God, he it is that doth go with thee; he will not fail thee, nor forsake thee. (KJV)

Matthew 10:31 Fear ye not therefore, ye are of more value than many sparrows. (KJV)

Luke 12:7 But even the very hairs of your head are all numbered. Fear not therefore: ye are of more value than many sparrows. (KJV)

I know what the fears are……due to personal reasons I will not be listing them at this time. But I think my biggest fear….is if God says No………God has said No to me before…..but I didn’t have as much to loose as I do now. Can I give it all to HIM and accept His will? I know that I can. I also know the pain that it will involve.

I know that the reassurance I seek will be given to me by Him….but the fear is still there……

I do know that I must surrender the fear and take up the spirit of power and love and a sound mind. I know I must be prepared for what God’s will is going to be…….It just may take me awhile.

July 18, 2008 - Posted by | Children, Family, Just Life | , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Ginger this was on my verse of the day link
    “So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” (Isaiah 41:10)

    I thought of you(and me;))when I read it. What a comfort to know God is holding us my His righteous right hand. We don’t have to figure it all out he’s got it covered. Even if we don’t like his decision he promises to never leave us or forsake us. (((hugs)))

    Reading your comment, brought tears to my eyes. Thank You so much…and yes, you are right. I am so blessed because God has given me some of the dearest and best friends. We can pray and hug each other…..(((HUGS)))

    Comment by seeker86 | July 19, 2008 | Reply

  2. Fear can cripple you and hold you in bondage.  Why do you have the fear?  Is the fear because of what was instilled in you as a young child?  So much of what I feared about worked out because our lives are in God’s control.  Your self esteem has suffered greatly through the years and that is one area in which you can look at all the positive things you have done in the lives of your family and your children.People who have intimiated us are actually the ones in control and that is not the case for us as believers.  We are to allow God to control the situations and this is where trust comes in.I remember once being told, “take control over thie things you can” and put the rest in God’s hands.  You need to remember what a beautiful wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend you are to those of us who love you very much.  God did not create junk when he made you.

    Comment by woundedlily | July 19, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

