Ginger

Random thoughts…(forgot the title…)

Hello World…..I am sick. I thought you would like to know. I have a nasty thing in my head that is traveling to my chest.

I sound like I swallowed a screeching cat. That is before the first 5 cups of hot tea. After the tea, I just sound scratchy.

I thought I would make this grand announcement for offers of chicken soup. Homemade chicken soup is the best when you are sick but not when you are the one that has to make it for yourself. I would also accept offers for other goodies. I am an equal opportunist.

I am trying to do something for myself to give me some time out of the house. I really wanted to get a job but my husband wasn’t too keen on that one. In his defense, he has some very valid reasons. He knows that I have the tendency to allow a job to take over my life. I tend not to turn down the request for extra help. I like the praise and the attta girl, job well done speeches. I needed to get out and do something.

I have always had an interest in this so it isn’t something that was spur of the moment. Wouldn’t you just love to know what kind of trouble I am getting myself into?

I became a volunteer at the local Fire and Rescue Squad. I am doing this slowly. I am coming in on the associate side first. I wanted to make sure I would have the time to give without taking away from my family. If it is manageable, I would like to switch to the operations side.

The difference between the two are the jobs you do. The Associate side assists with fund raisers and working at the squad. The Operations side are the ones who run on the ambulances. The training for both sides is the same however.

I have completed CISM (Critical Incident Stress Management). That was a very informative class. I would highly recommend taking it if you have Fire Chief Tanner teaching the class.

I have completed Blood Born Pathogens/Infectious Diseases. Wash your hands. Handwashing is the primary and your first line of defense against picking up something nasty. Then double glove. If you are not sure if you are removing a glove correctly, squirt a handful of ketchup in your palms and rub your hands together. if you can properly remove a glove without getting any of the ketchup on your skin. You did it right.

In case you didn’t know this,I will let you in on a little secret. I tell you thisbecause there are really stupid people out there in the world today. Um..latex/non latex gloves are SINGLE use only. No. You can not rinse them off and then put them back on. Someone, somewhere, did this. Hence the warning.

I have completed the HAZMAT awareness level 1. WoW! I came home from that class and wanted to check every thing under the counter. That was an intense class. The Chief did an awesome job teaching it.

I am completing the Homeland Security NIMS classes, level 100, 200 and 700. If you are bored and would like something to do with your spare time, take it. You will learn a lot and they are CEU credits.

I am scheduled to do the CPR class next month. I was supposed to have done that one all ready, but something about a family birthday party and the lego master builder got in the way. I am taking that one next month.

It is too late to get into the EMT classes for the fall so I am trying to register for January. This is just some of the training with the exception of the EMT classes that you must have before being voted in to the DTRS membership.

Oh….I almost forgot. I have to take a personality test? All I know about this test is that it must be proctored and takes 2-4 hours. I wonder what it says about you if you finish early? I have always been one of those early people you know. I am not sure that is a good thing when one is taking a personality test….finishing early might show I have no personality or I cheated?

Yeah…..I cheated on my personality test. You would have to know me to understand why I find that humorous.

That one is being done this Sunday. If you would like to know what I am check back on Monday….that is if they tell me….. 😉

Anyhoo…..I am going to bed after I have one more cup of hot tea. It soothes the sinuses and my throat. I just need something for the rest of me.

September 19, 2008 - Posted by | Just Life | , , , , ,

9 Comments »

  1. I know the feeling you didn’t keep your germs to yourself. I’m not quite as bad off as you it sounds but still feel like crap and my chest hurts.
    I would love to make you some chicken soup but I am floating on very thin ice at work. He started cancelling trips. I’ll find out today if it’s because of me.
    Hope you feel better……..(((((((HUGS)))))))

    Comment by peachiestpigpen | September 19, 2008 | Reply

  2. FYI. It’s Carmen aka God’s Army Academy. Come check me out on my new blog. I have been updating since Sept 1, and I am hiding from family who like to judge things said on blogs. HA. Update your blogroll and see what the boys are up to.

    Comment by daysofchaos | September 19, 2008 | Reply

  3. Hope you feel better soon Ginger.

    Comment by seeker86 | September 19, 2008 | Reply

  4. Take care of yourself.
    If you need to talk you know how to get in touch with me.

    Comment by Elaine | September 19, 2008 | Reply

  5. I’m sorry you aren’t feeling well. I hope it goes away quickly!

    Your volunteer work sounds like it will keep you busy…at least the classes are! I hope it works out for you and is just what you are looking for. (((HUGS)))

    Comment by MissPlacedAlaskan | September 20, 2008 | Reply

  6. I am going to estimate 4 weeks for your infection(s) to get around to the other members of your family. The trick is not to get sick the 2nd time. Glad you went to the doctor. Rest, Rest, Rest, Rest, Rest, Rest and be thankful for the 8 extra pair of legs you have. LOL

    Comment by Wounded Lily | September 20, 2008 | Reply

  7. Hey Ginger I am so sorry you aren’t feeling well! I have a gift for you on my blog…maybe it will make you feel better. 🙂

    Comment by Sharon | September 20, 2008 | Reply

  8. I hope you get better soon!

    Comment by Donna | September 21, 2008 | Reply

  9. You really need to add something NEW

    Comment by peachiestpigpen | October 17, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

