Ginger

Life at our House…..

I have been very lax in my blogging over the past two months. My sister demands a new post, so to oblige her….

The election is over. Finally!! I have been reading some disturbing items in the news of late. Racism is still strong and has reared its ugly head. A student run over simply because of his color. Crosses burning. Racial epitaphs appearing on the property of people of color.

I am just as disgusted with these current events as I was during the campaigns. Americans have shown their true ignorance and bigotry. Contrary to what many may say, Obama was elected by many simply because of his color, not his politics.

I did not vote for him. Not because of his color, BUT his politics. I would have had no problem voting for a black man had the man been of the type of character and stand as Alan Keyes.

Now that Obama is the president elect, I will continue to pray for him as the leader of this country. I will pray that God will intercede and put in place people with wisdom. I will pray for protection over his family.

Enough said………

On a happier note……..

My daughter turned 15 on the 15th of November. I am so proud of her. She is blossoming into such a young lady. I see the confidence that she shows in her writing and her relationship with her brothers and her father. I am thankful for her faithfullness, diligence and desire to serve God.

She is blessing to me and is one of the greatest gifts God has given to me.

She is a role model to her brothers. They hold her counsel in high regard. They also like to pick on her as typical brothers are so willing to do. It keeps her on her toes though. They wanted to make her birthday cake and knowing how much she likes chocolate, they added lots of chips to the cake. It was a hit!!

I hope they are always able to maintain that close bond even into adulthood.

They are anxiously awaiting the time that they are taller than her. That is their only complaint!

Happy Birthday Dear…Your father and I love you dearly.

On another note….

There is one small minute detail that all the home school conferences tend to leave out in their discussions on the advantages of homeschooling. The wear on ones home. It tends to take an extra beating when your children are home 24/7.

For example….

My boys are 11 and 13. They are much larger than most boys their ages. They take after their father so they are a bit taller. They are solid. I had an errand to run one day and while out I received the following phone call….

“Mom?”

“Yes, Charlie.”

“Um…there was an accident with the bathroom door.”

“Okaaaayyyy? What happened and is any one hurt?”

“Well… No one got hurt. Robbie was standing by the door and I asked him if he wanted me to push him into the bathroom.”

“Are you sure Robbie isn’t hurt?”

“Well…that wasn’t the problem and no he is fine. The bathroom door is um sort of broke. I asked him if he wanted to be pushed through the door while it was open or closed.”

“Oh Charlie, don’t tell me anymore…I’ll see it when I get home…..”

You see, I had only gone to pick up the pizza for dinner. They don’t deliver. I sat at the stop light and just shook my head. I didn’t know what to think. But with the two of them…one never knows.

I arrived back home with in 10 minutes or so of that phone call. I have to say that I love the fact that my kids are willing to call and warn me when they do something. It sort of takes the edge off of the surprise. Like the night my husband and I went out for dinner and they melted my hand mixer.

I walked into the house and put the pizza’s in the oven. My husband would be home in about 15 minutes. I asked the boys to show me what they had done to the bathroom door.

I walk down the hallway and I can see the door is still in one piece. It was closed. One could see the trim was cracked and looked like it had pulled away from the wall. I looked at the boys somewhat quizzically and asked where they broke the door. It didn’t appear to be broken. It was still in one piece and attached to the door frame. I was a little perplexed.

One of the boys opened the door slightly then pushed. My jaw dropped and my eyes popped! They didn’t exactly break the door. They door was still attached to the door frame. The frame was no longer attached to the wall. I couldn’t think of anything to say. I just stood there staring at the door then at the two of them standing in the hallway. Granted, they did look remorseful and penitent. Since they were unable to read my expression they really were not sure just how much trouble they were in.

“Are we in trouble” asked Charlie?

“Well…that will depend on your father’s reaction. I know we have had this discussion before about pushing people into walls and doors. You really should have known better. Correct?”

“Yes M’am” they both replied.

“Well. Hmm. Ummm…where was your sister in all of this?”

“She was sitting at the computer” replied the boys.

“Colleen Elizabeth, did you not think to tell them that pushing each other through a closed door was possibly NOT a good idea?”

“What?” replied Colleen.

“Colleen? Did you see what your brother’s did to the bathroom door Honey?”

“Noooo, I don’t pay attention to what they are doing when they do stuff like that? They’re boys! I’m sorry?”

I hung my head in disbelief. The house was put together rather cheaply but I would like to have something left to live in when my children leave home. They received the standard horse play lecture, AGAIN! I just walked away shaking my head.

My husband came home from work and I forgot all about the bathroom door…until he got ready to go to bed. He went to open the door and the frame on the right side sort of followed him into the bathroom. I heard him say something about the door and realized I had forgotten to mention that little bit of destruction to him. I explained the whole incident. He looked at me. Looked at the door then burst into laughing. The boys, who were all ready in bed, jumped out of bed and came to give their apologies.

My husband took it in stride and told them the frame was only held on by nails. He would use screws and they were going to help him fix the door and trim. He also advised them to not try to push each other through any more doors, open or closed.

People think my life is ho hum…Never a dull moment here…

So what exciting things happen in your home…..I would really like to know!!

November 17, 2008 - Posted by | Celebrations, Children, Family, Humor, Just Life, Observances | , , , , , , ,

9 Comments »

  1. Oh man I had not heard of anything like that!! That’s horrible. I’ve always liked Alan Keyes too. I saw his name on the ballot under another party I was not familar with. I didn’t even know he was running. I didn’t want to make a Ross Perot vote so I didn’t vote for him. I was a little tempted though.

    Funny story about the door. Oh my “They’re boys! I’m sorry?” Too funny. How cool is your husband!! Fixing it and making the boys help.

    Happy Birthday Colleen!!

    I was so disgusted by that when I read those stories. It made me very angry to think people were still that ignorant. It really shouldn’t be any surprise though.

    Yes, hubby is pretty cool…:-)

    Comment by seeker86 | November 17, 2008 | Reply

  2. Yes, racism is alive and terrible! I haven’t heard anything like you have explained, but I know it is here.

    Too funny about the door. I’m glad Randy had a good reaction to it. Very wise of him to make the boys help repair their damage. I love Colleen’s reaction!

    It sickens me to think people are still that bigoted.

    Colleen gets into writing mode and is oblivious to anything going on around her…. 🙂

    Comment by MissPlacedAlaskan | November 17, 2008 | Reply

  3. Oh, that gave me a good chuckle. Sorry to laugh at your agony, but that reminds me of my cousins when they would come over to my house. They thought that they could change a light bulb by standing on my ping pong table. It never was the same ping pong table after that!

    I have two girls, and they are young yet, but we have had a couple incidents in the kitchen and tying string to the dog. (for some reason they think that tying string to anything is a good idea)

    Oh that is funny! The poor ping pong table. That would be like the time the boys climbed their bunk bed and dresser to hang their rockets they made out of K’nex to the ceiling fan. I opened the door and had to duck. The rockets were spinning around on high speed. I looked around the room and back at the fan and commented to the boys that I wasn’t sure if I wanted to know how they had managed to achieve such a feet.

    Hmmm…the tying string is interesting. I’m sure the dog isn’t too exuberant over being tied with pieces of string though…:-)

    Comment by deldobuss | November 17, 2008 | Reply

  4. 😀 HAPPY BIRTHDAY COLLEEN 😀

    Comment by heathertopia | November 17, 2008 | Reply

  5. What a response to have! So many would have been angry and yelled at the boys. It reminds me when I had a super ball about the size of a golf ball. I was a teenager and bounced it in the living room. My little brother said he could get it higher so he bounced it real high. I said I could top that – and I did. I put a hole in the ceiling. Since our mom had died we didn’t have much supervision. I waited for days and then weeks for my dad to see what I had done. It was right above his chair he sat in. It was long months before he saw it.

    He called all three of us in the living room and wanted to know who had put the hole in the ceiling. We all denied any knowledge. He shrugged his shoulders and replied: I suppose Mrs. Noland did this. (Mrs. Noland was our neighbor who didn’t like kids). We just looked at our feet. Whew!
    Happy Birthday, again, Colleen

    Comment by Wounded Lily | November 17, 2008 | Reply

  6. Oh, now I don’t feel so bad. Christopher, 10 years old, took his sister’s door out two months ago. She said something to him and he chased after her and used one of his TKD moves. Not on her, the door.
    In the moment, he forgot that he breaks cinder blocks with his hand so in the scheme of things the door jam did not withstand the force of his karate chop. It stands broken waiting to be fixed. Tsk!! Tsk!!
    My hubby didn’t quite take it as calmly as yours.

    Happy Birthday Colleen!!

    Oh my!! In light of the fact that he can break cinder blocks, I am not quite sure what my response would have been…LoL. Your poor husband. Christopher would fit right in with my boys.

    Comment by dr. pepper | November 17, 2008 | Reply

  7. The story about the boys, the door and the reactions is priceless. They are blessed to have such cool parents – love and discipline in correct proportion and appropriate.

    I would have voted for Alan Keyes in a heart beat, I didn’t see his name on the ballot this time, did I miss it? (based on Lisa’s comment.) I heard a lot about how proud we should be to have elected a black president (actually he’s bi-racial because his mother was white), I’m not proud that he’s black. I personally don’t care about the color of my president’s skin I care about where he stands on the issues which are important to me.

    A good friend of mine, his father is a minister and a staunch democrat. The don’t discuss politics ofter because they are on opposing sides and it just isn’t worth the stress added to their relationship. Anyway the dad said that there was no way he would vote for someone who couldn’t speak w/o a telepromter in front of him.

    They weren’t trying to be destructive and they always tell on themselves. It’s one of those things that they recognized immediately the error of that particular incident.

    I didn’t think it could have gotten worse then what it did before the election. I was just stunned by what I have been reading.

    Comment by Elaine | November 17, 2008 | Reply

  8. Oh my you haven’t heard the stories of Megan and Mikayla have you? When those two get together anything and I mean anything can happen. From sneaking outside to swim and stipping everything off, to finding paint and painting themselves and half of Ashley’s wall, sticking construction paper down the bathroom sink. Putting the cat out on the roof. It has all happened and they are only at the time 3 and 4. Now they are 4 and 5 and I think it will only get worse as they get older because they will know more.

    Happy Birthday Colleen.

    That really sounds like the boys when they were younger. Charlie dropped a bowling ball on Robbie’s foot when R was only 2. C was 3. R earned himself his first broken toe. They have been veery imaginative but nothing like putting the cat on the roof…ROFLOL!!

    Comment by Bobbie | November 19, 2008 | Reply

  9. I can only laugh and cry with you. I can actually picture THAT conversation with your boys LOL!

    Comment by Mommaduck | December 1, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

