Ginger

About time I guess….

I have been very lax in the past few months over my posting habits.  I am truly working on this but quite frankly, I just haven’t had the time nor the heart.

Something of interest happened today so I felt it was post worthy. I have two items to share.

My husband and I were out running errands today and one of those stops happened to be at a gun shop.  I like guns.  I enjoy shooting. My husband is an NRA Instructor.  I feel comfortable with guns. I have no qualms having them around my children.

My friend and her husband gave each other guns for their anniversary. She mentioned the laser sighted pistol grips.  I haven’t seen those. My husband decided to stop at the gun shop and show me what they were and how they work.

Okay…Beth?  I want them!!  That is so awesome!!  I am looking at a 1911 45 with laser grips. What says “I love you Honey” then a gift with a laser attached.  Unfortunately mine may take until next year to aquire but I can wait.

The other item of interest involved a vehicle we passed on our travels. It is not uncommon to see camouflaged trucks and such driving around and yes, even in Northern Virginia one may come across a vehicle that screams redneck hunter.

Nothing like this one….

In case you are not sure what you are seeing…I will point out the camoflauged van with the log bumper complete with bark. Yes folks.  That is a real log. He also has one on the front of this sporty looking vehicle. I did smudge the license plate number soes not embarrass this fine gentleman.

I’m sure his bumper would be much cheaper and easier to replace then say some fiber glass bumper. It fits the vehicle.

I apologize for the poor quality of picture.  I took this with my cell camera.

By the way…

My sister, Peaches, turned 35 on the 3rd of December. Happy Birthday Sis. No…You are not getting a gun for your birthday or Christmas. The thought of giving you a gun is akin to the thought of ME giving Colleen driving lessons. No one wants to see either of those happen…:-)

That ranks up there with Randy not allowing me to climb the ladder to put lights on the roof. I told him ladders are the only thing I have ever gotten on and not broken a leg.  I seem to have more problems with stairs and curbs. I almost have him talked in it…want to come help?

December 5, 2008 - Posted by | Just Life

9 Comments »

  1. I am glad you pointed out the bumper because I didn’t even see that unitl you pointed it out.. I would not make a good detective…lol!! I am going to have to do lights this year because hubby will be out all month on the road. I am thinking of just doing the stuff we have for the yard and skipping the house lights all together. I do not want to get on the roof..lol!!!

    Comment by Sheila | December 5, 2008 | Reply

    • Dont’ feel so bad Sheila. Randy had to point it out to me….I wasn’t sure what I was seeing at first…LOL

      Comment by gingerporter | December 5, 2008 | Reply

  2. UMMM…nice redneck mobile, I guess… I’ve never seen the log bumpers before, hope that isn’t a new trend. LOL.

    Aren’t the laser grips cool! We still haven’t been able to g out shooting! I need to contact a friend with some land so we can go try out our weapons.

    Comment by MissPlacedAlaskan | December 5, 2008 | Reply

  3. You are too funny, Ginger!!

    When I showed hubby what B&D got each other he was quite impressed. The two guys stood gawking at the picture until they were positive what each was, down to the final details that they could make out! 😆

    Hubby said that any time I wanted to do something similar for our anniversary, V-day, birthday or Christmas is on board with me!! Right now though he’s doing his best to get supplies, it is very hard to find this stuff since Nov.4, and a new rifle – darned if I can recall which one but one hour there were plenty to order and the next they are on back order by over 2000 items. (Or something like that, my eyes began to glaze over when he got into discussing all this)

    Comment by Elaine | December 5, 2008 | Reply

    • I couldn’t believe what the guy was telling me at the gun shop. He said the first week after the election they had sold out of AK’s and the M4’s which are M16’s.

      Do not be surprised to see new gun legislation when the new Pres takes office….

      Comment by gingerporter | December 5, 2008 | Reply

  4. Great story! I’m not a real big fan of the lasers, but if you like them go for it!

    Comment by usasurvivor | December 6, 2008 | Reply

    • Thanks! I haven’t tried the laser yet. I got to play with one while in the store. It doesn’t really count in the store. Now let me take one to the range and give it a go and I will let you know… 🙂 It’s a cool toy. Besides…my husband is just happy I enjoy his gun hobby. If I had been squeamish about guns, he would have dropped me back in our dating days…LOL… 🙂

      Comment by gingerporter | December 7, 2008 | Reply

  5. Oh wow, a log bumper lol!!!! That’s getting fancy. =)

    Regarding the rush for guns and ammo – the same thing happened (still happening) here in the state where I live in and the state south of us.

    Comment by Donna | December 6, 2008 | Reply

    • You gotta love a log bumper Donna…that just screams “Hit me! Go ahead, mess with my bark!”

      The gun phenomenon is apparently nationwide. Me thinks others are a wee bit nervous about the incoming regime.

      Comment by gingerporter | December 7, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

