Ginger

Our House Decorations…2008

I was in a weird mood and decided to do tacky/gaudy lawn decorations.  Well, I only came up with one. It is up and is one of those carousel blow up thingys.

Here are some photos for your viewing pleasure…

Our house...

Our house...

A view of Hubbys  57 Chevy Bel Air Hardtop...

A view of Hubby's '57 Chevy Bel Air Hardtop...

Our one tacky yard ornament that normally sells for $170 that I bought for $25!

Our one tacky yard ornament that normally sells for $170 that I bought for $25!

I thought I would share other yards from our street.  More have decorated since I took these pictures.  I guess one started it and the whole street decided to join in… 🙂

This house has the most decorations on the street.  Her trees play music.

This house has the most decorations on the street. Her trees play music.

Another view in order to get the other side of the yard. I liek her lights.  They change colors.

Another view in order to get the other side of the yard. I liek her lights. They change colors.

I think this was the house that kicked off the street.  I love the lights she has hanging from the eaves. In the first picture you can see they are purple and blue (sort of) and now they are red and green. The three trees have some type of music that plays.  We can hear the music from our yard. At least it is enjoyable music.

There are two other houses I want to take pictures of that are in Dale City. I have to take a picture of these houses.  They have a competition each year of who can put up the most decorations …I think. I really don’t think the one yard has a patch of yard left to display anything else. It reminds me of the Griswald Christmas in Chevy Chases Christmas movie along with “Tim the Toolman Taylor’s” decorating.  The Taylor’s versus the Griswald’s.

December 17, 2008 - Posted by | Just Life | , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Oh it’s not so tacky…..I rather like it.

    Comment by celticmuse | December 18, 2008 | Reply

  2. Lovely job and not at all tacky. I would love to put up a nativity int he yard but I’ve never found a large one that didn’t cost an arm and a leg, I have none to spare, and they are never on clearance around here – someone will always pay the full price for them and then they are gone.

    If I think about it when it gets dark I’ll take pictures of my house and the only other one on the street that decorates outside.

    Comment by Elaine | December 18, 2008 | Reply

  3. Very pretty lights. Thanks for sharing your neighborhood with us:)

    Comment by seeker86 | December 18, 2008 | Reply

  4. Your decorations look quite nice actually. I like the star rays on the front of your house. (That is what they look like to me.)

    Comment by Donna | December 18, 2008 | Reply

  5. I like the house, especially where you brought the lights in a fan direction. I enjoyed the others too. We don’t have any outside directions. Merry Christmas.

    Comment by woundedlily | December 20, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

