Ginger

Three of my Favorite things….

….talking on the phone, snow, and cooking or grilling.

It is not very often that I get to do all three at the same time.  The south was hit with a wonderful snow storm. One we have been anticipating since November. My family and I happen to love, love the snow. We are into all that snow fun type of stuff. Of course homeschooling provides more time to play in the white stuff if we ever happen to be fortunate enough to get any of it.

It finally arrived!!  Much to the joy and anticipatory pleasure  awaiting all. I had to share in my joy over all this white stuff falling around me. I called a friend.

I called my friend in Texas. I had to call the only person I know who has all ready started her garden. She has put in 24 tomato plants all ready.  Plus some fruit trees. She wanted proof or just a picture of me  outside in the snow grilling our wonderful T’Bone steaks.  We are equal opportunist grillers. Our motto is much the same and more reliable than that of the post office.

We grill come rain,shine,snow, sleet, hail, lightening, hurricane and blizzard. We keep three tanks just for this purpose.

Here is the not so flattering photo of me on the deck, talking to my friend and grilling steaks.  Oh…they must be rare to medium rare.  I cannot over cook a good piece of meat. I have tried and failed. Much to the chagrin of those of my acquaintances who have the poor taste to like dead, overdone, tough as leather meat. I cook it to perfection and you can ruin it yourself by throwing it in the microwave. I’m not doing it for you…..

If you ever visit and I prepare  my special grilled baked potatoes and a yummy piece of steak…it will be done to perfection….Mine!! You can do what you will after I remove it from the grill.  😉

By the way…we are expected to get somewhere between 8-12″ of snow.  Not a good snow but I guess it will suffice. My husband and I were discussing our idea of a great snow.  At least we are on the same page in our thoughts of snow. That could have been a marriage disaster!! To our way of thinking…at least two feet.  That would make it a great snow.

I know…we are in the wrong place. I can remember when Virginia would get snows like that. I am afraid we will have to move to a more Northern climate.  Hopefully before I am too old and frail to enjoy the stuff.

March 2, 2009 - Posted by | Cooking, Family Fun

3 Comments »

  1. Sweetie, just keep that stuff down there. I’ve seen more than enough up here this winter.

    Comment by celticmuse | March 2, 2009 | Reply

  2. Ginger you just come on up here and pray for snow to your hearts content. As long as you don’t pray for it during the running of the Kings we’ll love you for the answer to your prayers 😀 The snow machiners, skiers and snow boarders are very happy with the recent snowfall we got – I live with one of those boarders 🙄

    Comment by Elaine | March 2, 2009 | Reply

  3. Every time I think Spring has sprung, it snows again! The lake begins to thaw and the next thing you know the ice-fishermen are back out there.

    It looks like relief is on it’s way…we’re moving to your neck of the woods.

    Comment by mtbriere | March 4, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

