Ginger

Shoes…size 11 and up…Where are they?

My 15 year old daughter is tall.  She has always been tall. She was born tall and believe me I should know because I am short. She is 5’11” and wears a size 11 shoe.

We went out on Thursday to try to find her some new shoes.  She has outgrown them.  Her sneakers were leaking.

Off we went.  Kohl’s was having a 50% off sale on all their shoes. I would debate the 50% but Herself deserved a good shopping trip.

We only found two pair of shoes. One pair of wedges and a good pair of sneakers.

I was telling a friend of mine about how we had such a hard time finding shoes in a size 11.

She started laughing. She asked me if I knew why we were having such a difficult time. I didn’t know.  I just assumed there must be a huge population of women out there with big feet.

No!!  That is not the reason why according to the “Nina in the Know.” She and her mother used to go to this place where drag queens performed. She always admired their shoes. She asked one of the “men”  where they got such cute shoes. They told her that at the beginning of each new shoe season they hit the stores and mostly buy out the size 11’s and 12’s. Most of them wear those sizes.

Oh great!!  My daughter is competing against men to find cute heals.

When I told Herself this…she just looked me and said, “Oh.”

What’s a mom to do now?  We still need three more pair of shoes. She needs a pair of sandals for wearing with casuals and would like a couple more for church. Oh and we must not forget the flip flops.  They annoy her Father so she likes to wear them.  I was asked not to tell him that.

This will mean heading to the mall.  I hate the mall. It’s a big mall. It’s miles of mall. People drive from out of state to come to this mall.  It is supposed to be a discount mall.

I guess my idea of discount and the malls idea of discount are tea totally different!!

Did I say I hate the mall?  I just wanted to make sure that was clear. I really hate the mall.

For Herself?  I will go to the mall…

April 4, 2009 - Posted by | Just Life | , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Try The Big Feet Store or Crocs. At Crocs most women’s shoes go up to 12 and we have some new dressy sandals.

    Comment by TheDeeZone | April 4, 2009 | Reply

  2. You are a good mom willing to brave the Mall to get your daughter some nice shoes. All the best as you both take this adventure.

    Comment by Elaine | April 5, 2009 | Reply

  3. Buy them from the internet or catalog. Then she can get quite an assortment. My daughter had the same problem growing up. Her shoe size was so large when she was in middle school that it was so hard to find anything that didn’t look too old for her. I wanted to go to the “mall” again with you now that I have a scooter. Does that mean I have to go without you?

    Comment by woundedlily | April 6, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

