Ginger

Mother’s Day Match…

My husband thinks it would be a great idea for me to try shooting an IPSC match.  In case you are wondering what that is I found an excellent video demonstrating an IPSC match.

In order to do this, I need a holster and extra magazines.  We are heading out to the Nation’s Gun Show to hopefully get me fitted for a holster.

We went to the range last weekend. My husband has had me shooting target loads with my Taurus PT1911.   Target loads are lighter loads to shoot. Last weekend he loaded me up with full loads. The difference was big considering I wasn’t expecting the recoil. Everything stays the same (according to my husband) accept the recoil. (He wasn’t kidding!) I think I closed my eyes once. I got the hang of it.

Remember those pearl handled grips? My husband has been shooting for over twenty years. He did competition shooting while in college.  He knows his guns. He has never over tightened a grip. We noticed when shooting my gun, that I have actually worked the grip loose. No big deal, we just tighten it back down after cleaning the gun.  The grips come off when we clean the pistol.

When I switched to the full load rounds I noticed the grips loosening up on me. At first I didn’t think much of it, I just gripped it harder. I had a death grip on my pistol, simply because the recoil was a wee bit  more than I was used to. Some how I gripped it  so hard that during the process of shooting, I broke the grip. It cracked along the line of where the screws hold the grip in place. I know I am strong but I don’t think I am that strong.

Anyhoo, when we got home we replaced the grips with the extra set that came with my Taurus. I am hoping that Taurus will be kind enough to replace them since it was my Valentine’s gift. My daughter likes the black grips better.  She says black is classy with gold… 😉

My husband thinks shooting the IPSC will be lots of fun for me.  I just don’t want to embarrass him. He is pretty confident in my skill after having seen me at the range. I think he is a little proud of his coaching skills. He is pretty good at what he does.

We shall see…

Since it is Mother’s Day and they are trying to get more women involved in shooting…No registration fee for me!!

I must admit…that wasn’t exactly what I had in mind for Mother’s Day. I will be the pistol packin’ momma. I did find a couple of new skirts that I can wear with a holster. Yes…I shoot in skirts. I will have to post a picture for other gun toting Momma friends of mine. I am sure they will get a kick out of this adventure.

One other thing I forgot to mention that my husband thought would be interesting.

I have since discovered that the style of foundational garment I wear (ie bra!) makes a difference in how I shoot. If I wear the perky, stand at attention garment the “girls” are some what in the way. Just like I can’t swing a golf club because the arms just won’t position correctly. I am blessed. If I wear the flatten me to the chest, smoosh them down garment…I have no problem bringing the pistol up and sighting it. I don’t have to reposition my arms.

I may be the only women who finds this to be the case but my husband thought it was worth mentioning. I do know I am not the only blessed women out there shooting.  I wonder if Cornered Cat ever heard of this problem. I might have to drop her a line and ask…

April 24, 2009 - Posted by | Just Life | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

