Ginger

Bobby McFerrin and Yo-Yo Ma…..

We have tried to introduce the kids to various types of music. We are very conservative in our taste but I want them to develop an appreciation for the various types and styles. One of the many genres is classical. My kids enjoy classical music and I believe it is because we started them at very young ages.

A fun way to do this is to choose a selection of music from composer’s such as Wagner, Vivaldi, Beethoven, Mozart, Chopin, Bizet, Gershwin….well I am sure you get the idea.

One of the assignments we have done is choose five different composers with a range of differing styles. We have them sit and close their eyes while listening to the music. Then they must describe what the music brings to mind.

They may draw a picture which illustrates what they think the music is saying to them. They may write a story or a poem…..but it must depict something about that particular piece.

One of their favorite cd’s to listen to is Hush by Yo-Yo Ma and Bobbie McFerrin. This album combines two of my favorite people. I have marveled at the talent of Bobby McFerrin. The one instrument I would give anything to learn to play is cello. I have every album that Yo-Yo Ma has recorded. My two favorite are the Hush album (with Bobby McFerrin of course) and Obrigado Brazil.

If anyone has a spare cello lying around just doing nothing….I know a home school mom who wold appreciate a donation….:). My three kids are currently in piano and we started guitar this summer. I will be teaching my son trumpet as soon as he gets his braces off next month…..He decided to wait…:)

The cello is for me….;)

This is a very unique mix of classical cellist and vocal innovation by two of the world’s most renowned musicians.

The kids and I were goofing around and found a video of Yo-Yo Ma and Bobby McFerrin performing one of their songs from the Hush Album.

If you are unable to view the video in my blog, here is the YouTube link….Hush .

For my home school friends, you might be interested in checking out “The Silk Road” project started by Yo-Yo Ma in 1998. There is a section for teachers with fully developed lesson plans that explore the connections of the Silk Road from Eastern Asia to the Mediterranean.

“The Silk Road” project…….I hope you have enjoyed this little selection and maybe it will encourage you to broaden your horizons and open your children’s appreciation and imagination to what classical has to offer.

I have to add this other video highlighting the the extent of Bobby McFerrin’s incredible talent. Most people only know him of the “Don’t Worry, Be Happy” song. We drove my sister crazy tonight playing that video clip. I really think it was son’s 10th time of ,”Can we do it again?!” that mad her swipe the mouse from us….LOL.

Bobby McFerrin….Bach Prelude….Ave Maria

Ave Maria Link….You Tube (1)

Ave Maria ….You Tube link (2nd version performed with a choir)

August 11, 2007 - Posted by | Celebrations, Children, Homeschooling, Just Life, Music

8 Comments »

  1. We love Yo-Yo Ma.

    Comment by chocolatechic | August 11, 2007 | Reply

  2. My speed isn’t fast enough on the laptop to get this very well so I’ll have to wait until I get on the laptop to appreciate what you’ve shared.

    Comment by Elaine | August 11, 2007 | Reply

  3. I haven’t heard a Bobby McFerrin song since I entered the Air Force a gazillion years ago! What incredible breath control!

    Papa’s gonna bring you a chocolate cake. 😆 I like that version!

    That was fun Ginger…Thanks!

    Comment by Sheri | August 11, 2007 | Reply

  4. OK, got to see them. That was wonderful.

    Thanks Ginger.

    Comment by Elaine | August 11, 2007 | Reply

  5. Thanks for sharing those video’s, ginger. I really like the Hush one. I am looking for the CD now….

    Comment by Beth | August 13, 2007 | Reply

  6. OOOPPPSSS…Sorry, Ginger! I just saw that I didn’t put a Capital G on Ginger in that last post.

    Comment by Beth | August 13, 2007 | Reply

  7. That’s okay….half the time I have to back up myself and and change the g. Sometimes I just leave it….lol….:)

    Glad everyone has enjoyed the music. I have enjoyed listening to them…..I might give the kids back the cd…..It has been a couple of months since they drove me nuts with it…:)

    Comment by gingerporter | August 13, 2007 | Reply

  8. Thank you for your comment on my article, “Don’t Say That.” It’s nice to make a friend in cyber-space! Also, thank you for referring your friend. It’s nice to know that I’m not alone.

    Best wishes to you and your family!

    Comment by mrsogletree | August 13, 2007 | Reply


Leave a comment